663

663

Sunday. Anyone can be a Father but it takes someone special to be a Dad.
I always agreed with that and if I had any doubt, this morning I found something on my fake Facebook that made me believe that even more and filled my eyes with tears.

Soon after my youngest son was born, I met a man playing an online game. His nickname was Grandpa. He was the one who introduced me to Wendy, my dear friend who passed away last month.
Grandpa was always respectful to us and incredibly sweet. We used to talk about many things and that’s how we found out that he could never had children of his own but he married a woman who had a teenage girl many years ago. That girl got married and had three kids. Those kids call my friend: Grandpa.
And you can tell that he’s a special man when you find something like this on his wall.

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.22.29 AM

Yesterday I video called my mom. We talked for some time and then she said to my dad to entertain me while she was getting the washing machine ready.
I have no idea how the conversation started but he said: “And the day I realized why you wanted the Italian citizenship, I almost fainted. You knew all along that you wanted to move to Europe!! That was like a kick in the stomach to me but when in February we got a telephone bill for $780 I knew it was time for you to go!!”
We laughed for about 3 minutes non-stop, we had tears in our eyes and then I said: “Happy Father’s Day in advance!!”

To all the Dads out there, have a happy day!
And to My Dad, thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!

I wish I had read that quote before:

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 11.19.55 AM

Dad, if I have to choose among all the quotes one that describes you, I would pick this one.

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 11.21.34 AM

~ by DotedOn on June 19, 2016.

10 Responses to “663”

  1. I almost forgot it was fathers day, can you believe that? I eventually remembered and rang my dad to talk to him and wishing a happy day Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful story about “Grandpa” and your dad πŸ˜€ Some men truly are wonderful πŸ™‚ I’m grateful for mine, too πŸ™‚ And I didn’t know Father’s Day was celebrated beyond the U.S.!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re lucky to have a good relationship with both your parents. My father was never in my life very much but luckily there were some good men to fill in the gaps.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. So sweet. I really love that quote.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Those are some good quotes. I’m not sure my children would echo those sentiments.. but.. good quotes none the less.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
